Standing Ovation

Award Recipients

Standing Ovation is a yearly event to celebrate the entire community of DC educators and present top performers with awards and cash prizes.

  • Reset

Standing Ovation 2023

Excellence Awards for Teachers

Award for Teachers
  • Whitney Bartell, General Elementary Teacher, Simon Elementary School
  • Alex Clark, Physical Education Teacher, Dunbar High School
  • Kalpana Sharma, Early Childhood Techer, Brightwood Elementary School
  • Tiescheka Stuart, Career Education Teacher, Roosevelt STAY High School

Outstanding Educator of the Year

Award for Teachers
  • Dr. NiLa Austin, School-Wide Enrichment Teacher, Ida B. Wells Middle School

Excellence Awards for School-Based Staff

Award for Staff
  • Marlen Joglar, Instructional Coach, Bruce Monroe Elementary school
  • Christina Lee, Instructional Coach, Jefferson Middle School
  • Asheigh Rose, School Librarian, Eliot-Hine Middle School
  • Mische' Walden, School Counselor, Johnson Middle School

Oustanding School Staff of the Year

Award for Staff
  • Cristina Restrepo-Harner, Program Coordinator and Behavior Analyst, Tyler Elementary School

Excellence Awards for School Leaders

Award for School Leaders
  • Shajena Cartagena, Assistant Principal, Ballou High School
  • Dr. Calvin Hooks, Principal, Hyde-Addison Elementary School
  • LeVar Jenkins, Principal, Burroughs Elementary Schools
  • Norah Lycknell, Principal, Brent Elementary School

Outstanding School Leader of the Year

Award for School Leaders
  • Dr. Kristie Edwards, Principal, Randle-Highlands Elementary School

Excellence Awards for Central Services Staff

Award for Central Office Employees
  • Nijma Esad, Manager, Library Programs, Office of Teaching & Learning
  • Alisha Heller, Manager of Operations & Communications, Office of Communications
  • Anthony Hiller, Senior Director of Core Content, Office of Teaching & Learning
  • Emily Schneider, Manager, School Finance, Office of Fiscal Strategy

Outstanding Central Services Leader

Award for Central Office Employees
  • Dr. Jacqueline A. Blackwell-Speight, Manager of Emergency Planning & Guidance, Office of the Chief Operating Office

School Excellence: School Improvement Award

Award for Schools
  • Eliot-Hine Middle School, Principal Marlene Margrino

School Excellence: M. Shanita Burney Family Engagement

Award for Schools
  • Turner Elementary School, Principal Jessica Johnson

Standing Ovation 2022

Educate Students For Success In a Changing World

Award for Teachers
  • Elleni Abebe, Social Studies Teacher, Roosevelt High School
  • Perrinh Savang, Teacher, General Elementary, Janney Elementary School
  • Angela Isom, ELA Teacher, King Elementary School
  • Tia Clemmons, PE Teacher, Jackson-Reed High School
  • Andrew Green, Music Teacher, Phelps High School

Support Students For Success In a Changing World

Award for Staff
  • Kira Rowe, Counselor, Coolidge High School
  • Malcolm Rivers, Pathway Coordinator, Ballou STAY High School
  • Melissa Sweeney, Social Worker, Anacostia High School
  • Marlen Giles, Instructional Coach, Eliot-Hine Middle School
  • Rodney McDaniel, Custodial Foreman, Powell Elementary

Lead The Way For Innovation In Our Schools

Award for School Leaders
  • Alethea Bustillo, Principal, Bruce-Monroe Elementary School
  • William Haith, Principal, Anacostia High School
  • Tyra Russell, Assistant Principal, A.K Savoy Elementary School
  • Anna Katt, Assistant Principal, Hendley Elementary School
  • Charlette Butler-Strickland, Principal, Hart-Middle School

Build Bridges To Our Students and Families

Award for Schools
  • Bancroft Elementary School
  • Hyde-Addison Elementary School
  • Jefferson Middle School

Elevate Supports for Schools

Award for Central Office Employees
  • Baylen Brooks, Specialist, School Operations, Office of the Chief Operating Officer
  • Kevin Washburn, Director, DCPS Library Programs, Office of Teaching and Learning
  • Nathalie Navarrete, Manager, Educator Pipelines & Credentialing, Office of Leadership Development
  • Sonya Soloway, Manager, Design and Innovation, Office of School Improvement and Supports
  • Tamesha Freeman, Speech Language Pathologist, Office of Teaching and Learning, Division of Specialized Instruction

Standing Ovation 2021

Instructing During a Year of Change

Award for Teachers
  • Travis Bouldin, World History Instructor, Ron Brown HS
  • Kyra Dolison, Kindergarten Teacher, Randle Highlands ES
  • Alisa Halliburton, Special Education CES MS teacher, Cardozo EC
  • Jonte Lee, Science Teacher, Coolidge HS
  • Angela Refuerzo-Tababan, Special Education Teacher, River Terrace EC

Connecting During a Year of Change

Award for Staff
  • Dedra Adams-Johnson, Director Strategy and Logistics, Roosevelt STAY
  • Edwin Boddie, Manager Strategy and Logistics, Langdon ES
  • Pankaj Rayamajhi, Director Strategy and Logistics, Columbia Heights EC
  • Jasmine Smith, ECE Partner Teacher, Turner ES
  • Corey Totress, Twilight/ Pathways Coordinator, Eastern HS

Leading During a Year of Change

Award for School Leaders
  • Latoya Asaya, Assistant Principal, Excel Academy
  • Shawna Dix, Assistant Principal, Hardy MS
  • Shenora Plenty, Principal, Wheatley EC
  • Sundai Riggins, Principal, Hendley ES
  • Megan Vroman, Principal, Ida B. Wells MS

Engaging Families During a Year of Change

Award for Schools
  • Browne EC
  • Dunbar HS
  • Kramer MS

Supporting Schools During a Year of Change

Award for Central Office Employees
  • Veronica Alvarado, Manager, Teacher Recruitment & Pipelines, OSIS
  • Bianca Bennett, Manager, Global Studies, OTL
  • Tara Cheston, Specialist, LGBTQ and Sexual Health Program, OTL
  • Jennifer Fuller, Manager, Curricular Innovation, OTL
  • Jerry liar, Public Events & Engagement Coordinator, Communications and Engagement Office

Get updates on the latest investment opportunities and success stories.